The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science is an element of the Inspiring Australia – Science Engagement Programme. The prizes recognise the achievements of Australian scientists and innovators, as well as the critical role educators play in inspiring students to consider science as a career.

There are five prizes for science and innovation and two prizes for science teaching.

Science Prizes

  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Science is awarded for a significant advancement of knowledge through science.
  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation is awarded for the innovative translation of scientific knowledge into a commercially available product, service or process that has had substantial economic, social and where relevant environmental benefits.
  • Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year and Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year each recognise an exceptional achievement in science that benefits, or has the potential to benefit, human welfare or society.
  • Prize for New Innovators recognises an exceptional early achievement in the commercialisation of scientific research that has had substantial economic, social and, where relevant, environmental benefits.

Science Teaching Prizes

  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools
  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools.

These prizes are awarded to teachers who have made an outstanding contribution to science education.

A prize nomination must be proposed by someone (a nominator) with knowledge of the nominee’s achievements and endorsed by two supporters. Nominators for the Science Prizes must also provide three independent referees.

Please see Prime Minister's Prizes for Science for information on eligibility and how to nominate.