On 25 March 2013, the Prime Minister announced new Ministerial Responsibilities resulting in administrative changes to Commonwealth departmental responsibilities for climate change and energy efficiency policy functions.

The Hon Gary Gray AO MP has been appointed the new Minister for Resources and Energy, Minister for Tourism and Minister for Small Business. The Hon Greg Combet AP MP continues as the Minister for Climate Change, Industry and Innovation. The Hon Dr Craig Emerson MP is the new Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Science and Research.

The energy efficiency functions of the former Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency (DCCEE) have been transferred to the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism (DRET). Remaining policy functions currently performed by DCCEE have been transferred to the Department of Industry, Innovation, Climate Change, Science, Research and Tertiary Education (DIICCSRTE).

The announcement will more closely integrate key energy efficiency policies with the wider energy market reform agenda. The changes will also improve connections between climate, industry and innovation policy.

Relevant staff from DCCEE will follow functions to either DIICCSRTE or DRET.